The Capitol Stacks!

Picture of front page of Capitol Stacks

To read the September / October 2015 issue of the Capitol Stacks, click on the image above.

To receive future issues, use the button below:


Old motor vehicle laws


Did you know that automobiles used to be registered with the Secretary of State’s Office? In 1921, the registration fee was based on the A.L.A.M. (Association of Licensed Automobile Manufacturers) horsepower rating of the car. The fee was $5 for vehicles of 25 A.L.A.M. horsepower and under, $10 for vehicles between 25 and 40 horsepower, and $15 for vehicles of more than 40 horsepower. For comparison, according the Bureau of Labor Statistics Inflation Calculator, $15 dollars in 1921 has the buying power of $198.66 today. To learn more about the laws governing motor vehicles in early 1920’s Arizona, check out the Arizona State Agency Publications Collection on the Arizona Memory Project, or click here:

Clunk, Rumble, Screech

If your new car is not working, then your car’s problems may fall under the statutory warranty called the “Lemon Law”.   Arizona’s state lemon laws are in Title 44 of the Arizona Revised Statutes.  The requirements for a new motor vehicle can be found in ARS § 44-1262 on.  Definitions for “motor vehicle”, “used motor vehicle dealer”, “consumer” and more are found in ARS § 44-1261.

You can also find tips for buying new and used cars from the Arizona Attorney General’s office.

The U.S. Federal Trade Commission also has tips about automobile purchases and warranties.